top of page

How to Beat the Post Holiday Blues

I am that girl that starts listening to Christmas music the day after Halloween and anxiously awaits until it is semi-socially acceptable to put up Christmas decorations. With that being said, taking down the decoration always leaves my house feeling dull- clean, but dull!

Here are a few tips to beating the holiday blues and avoiding that post Christmas lull.

1. Spice up your centerpiece.

At Christmas, my table is filled with decorations. After taking it all off of the table, it sure feels drab. This year, I am keeping the winter theme on my dining table. I snagged this garland on Christmas clearance at Town and Country in Monticello! I couldn't wait to use it until next year, so I found a way to keep the house looking spirited. The vases are from our wedding rehearsal dinner, and I love keeping my table set with my dishes. Kroger had their greenery on sale and I frequently cut greenery from the yard- it can be easy and inexpensive to make a beautiful centerpiece!

2. Put those new Christmas gifts to use.

My Christmas wish list used to consist of toys and games, now it consists mostly of home decor.

I got this beautiful MacKenzie Child's vase for Christmas. I have anxiously been ready to start my collection, and I am so excited to finally have my first piece! I would usually be sad to take down my Christmas coffee table decor, but this year, I was excited to put my new vase to use! I paired it with this beautiful So Delta candle, and I am happy as a clam!

3. Don't forget Valentine's Day.

One of my favorite things to do around the house is to decorate for the season. While I am not a huge fan of Valentine's Day, I can get on board with little things here and there.

I found cute wooden heart garland at Target, and I am loving it! The Annieglass heart dish pictured above was a wedding gift that I keep out year round, but it is especially perfect for Valentine's Day. Tea towels are also a favorite of mine- I love to change them out for the season!

4. Spice up your curb appeal.

Everyone has such beautiful lights, wreaths, and garland adorning their house during Christmas. I hated taking down my Christmas wreath and garland, but getting a new wreath made the transition easier. I have always had a Boxwood wreath that I absolutely love, but I am switching things up a bit with this Magnolia wreath I snagged from Kirkland's.

5. Keep out the sweets.

Yes, I know it's the New Year and everyone is on a diet, but the sweets and baked goods are readily available at Christmas, so why stop now?! I have always loved to bake, so it so fun to make yummy treats to keep around the house! I love using my cake stand to display whatever dessert I am serving.

Do you get sad after taking down Christmas decorations? How do you beat the post holiday blues? Hopefully these tips will help make your house still feel cozy after the decorations are stowed away!

bottom of page