top of page

Charleston + Savannah

Hello, friends!

It's been a while since I have posted. Happy Friday to everyone. I hope you had a great week!

Last week, Andrew and I had a little getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Before getting into the details of that trip, I can't leave out the beautiful wedding of my friend, MRS. GRAHAM, that we went to on the way to our road trip to Charleston.

I mean, have you seen anyone so pretty?! Ashlynn was such a beautiful bride, and one of sweetest that ever existed I am sure of it. It was the perfect weekend celebrating Ashlynn and her new husband, Scott. I am so thankful they let me be a part. Ashlynn asked me to design her wedding logo and bridesmaid's earrings, which I happily did! Her "something borrowed" was also the bracelet that I wore in my wedding that my mom hand strung for me!

My face when I saw the beautiful bride!

Andrew and I snuck away to Charleston and Savannah for a few days. It was so great to get away and spend some quality time with my man!

We stopped by Boone Hall Plantation, which just so happens to be one of the locations of The Notebook filming and Blake Lively's wedding! It was beautiful, and the alley of oaks was stunning!

In Charleston, we stayed at the Vendue Hotel- so cool. It's much different than your typical Holiday Inn. It's an art hotel, and you never know what style your room will be. For example, I thought we would get a room like this (snuck this picture of the room next to us when housekeeping came in):

Instead, our room looked like this:

Ha Ha Ha. That's all I had to say when the bell man opened the door. It still did have the charming brick wall, and the bathroom was VERY nice and stylish, so we definitely didn't suffer. Note taken: When booking hotels, don't let your wife book the room and especially don't put it in a woman's name. I am blaming it on the fact that we booked it under my name instead of his, but who knows! While this wasn't the IDEAL decor for an anniversary trip, the hotel was wonderful, and how great would this room have been for a girls getaway or bachelorette trip?!

The hotel offered complimentary bikes to explore the city (which Andrew refused to ride with me), free Starbucks coffee each morning, a glass of wine each evening, and milk and cookies every night! It also has a popular rooftop bar that boasts great views of the city!

Andrew and I are definitely foodies, so food was one of our main focuses on this trip. Oysters, Lobster Rolls, Shrimp, Steak... we devoured it all! For Charleston, I give Husk and 167 Raw a tie for my favorite restaurants!

In Savannah, I'd have to say Leopold's Ice Cream was my favorite! Andrew said it was the best ice cream he has ever had- a win!

Andrew's all time favorite movie is Forrest Gump, so he especially loved sitting in Chippewa Square, the location of where Forrest sat on the bench in the movie.

We had a great mini vacation, and we are looking forward to another vacation with friends to continue our anniversary celebration in a few weeks!

This week was busy, busy with the combination of just getting back into town, going back to work, our power going out (again.. ugh), the summer sale, and a couple of large wedding orders. Regardless, I feel blessed to be so busy!

I am headed out today to Vicksburg for Miss Mississippi. My dear friend, Laura Lee, will be passing on her crown to next winner tomorrow night. I couldn't be proud of one of my best friends and the way she has represented Mississippi. If only more people were like Laura Lee!

Have a great weekend!

bottom of page