top of page

ONE YEAR!

I cannot believe it has been a year since Andrew and I got married!

The past year has absolutely FLOWN BY. Our first year of marriage has been filled with blessings all around! It's crazy how consumed you become by wedding planning for it all to end in a flash. Wedding planning was pure craziness, but I actually really enjoyed it. Fairly often over the past year, I have thought about how I needed to write reflecting on our wedding day.

Speaking of things I hope to never forget... Want to know a fun secret about June 4? Andrew and I decided to write letters to each other and exchange monogrammed bibles as wedding gifts. When preparing to write my letter to him, I remembered all of the prayers I had journaled in my time of singleness before meeting Andrew. On June 4, 2012, I wrote a very detailed prayer that the Lord was preparing my heart and the heart of my future husband for marriage. WOW! Exactly 4 years later, we were getting married! Is that a sign from the Lord or what!?

Not everything on our wedding day went as planned. Number one issue of the day? The weather! Having an outdoor reception is always risky and provided too much unnecessary stress for everyone! Luckily, the day turned out just fine and with the help of an army of my dad's friends, the reception venue was just perfect despite the near floods we were facing!

I have always loved coordinating and planning events, so of course I enjoyed planning the little details of the wedding!

My mom and I made these "Welcome Bags" for our out of town guests complete with yummy snacks, drinks, and an itinerary for the weekend! I also loved preparing gifts for our wedding party!

My superwoman mom also planned a brunch for the morning of my wedding. We gave all of the bridesmaids these robes as a gift to get ready in. The brunch, complete with the most amazing French Toast (recipe here) and mimosas, was so fun and was the perfect start to our day!

While I certainly did not DIY the entire wedding, I did enjoy taking on a few tasks by myself! I designed our wedding programs, and I really enjoyed getting to create them exactly the way I wanted. Since then, I have actually been able to help a couple of friends design their logos and programs as well - so fun! My mom and I also had the brilliant idea to make our own magnolia wreaths. I had made one magnolia wreath before, so I figured I could tackle this! Making 7 magnolia wreaths was quite the task, but I enjoyed them even more knowing that we made them ourselves! They turned out great and saved a couple hundred dollars- a win!

My floral design skills stopped there, our wonderful florist took care of the rest!

A family friend was generous enough to let us use his home for our outdoor reception. I mean, how beautiful is this scenery!

He even surprised us with a firework show complete with our name in lights- What a wedding gift! It was such a hit!

The wedding reception was one of the best times of my life! Having your closest family and friends all together having a good time celebrating is simply the best!

The day was better than we ever could have imagined!

My favorite part of the day? This! Every bride deserves this look from her groom on their wedding day!

After one full year together, we feel incredibly blessed to be surrounded by the best friends and family in the world! Today we are feeling very thankful for photographers and videographers who so perfectly captured our day, allowing us to relive these special moments! HAPPY ONE YEAR- Here's to many more!

bottom of page